English Chinese (Simplified) Japanese Korean Spanish

纽约 - 异地实习

贝斯以色列连续癌症中心(BICCC)
325西第15街, 纽约,NY 10011

在连续癌症中心的西侧校园门诊机构,提供治疗的癌症患者。他们关心的各种癌症患者,但被认为是一个优秀的中心诊断为头部和颈部癌症。其治疗方法不仅关注的最好的道理对抗疗法可以提供,这也集中在治疗病人的整体。

他们的目标是支持病人的福祉不仅通过待遇作为关系到从治疗导致生活质量问题的过程中,但复苏。他们提供了一个完整的肿瘤综合计划,包括瑜伽,灵气,引导图像,催眠,以及艺术创作,包括音乐疗法和写作工作坊。

异地实习将提供治疗的患者经历化学治疗和放射治疗。此外,有两个研究项目的进展关系到口干的生活问题出现在我们的头部和颈部的患者潮热在我们的乳腺患者生存质量及NBSP;学生将有机会在治疗过程中有癌症患者的工作和有更好地了解癌症的疾病。

 

大经络诊疗
格兰街211(莫特和伊丽莎白之间)

位于Kamwo香草和茶叶公司的后面,大经络诊疗看到来自全国各地的谁正在访问唐人街世界患者。主管提供实习的机会,从Kamwo广泛的草药取药呈现样本以增强中药鉴别技能。此外,东部的营养通过汤和茶的品尝编制一个方面,提出一起参加药草处理(即蜜煎草药,真空包装),并观察生药的处方填写粗放的传统草药取药。


圣约翰滨江医院(杨克斯)
2公园大道,纽约杨克斯10703

圣约翰滨江医院,公园服务亭,位于威彻斯特县(通过公共交通到达)。从该基金的28天康复计划的患者被称为针灸治疗。学生可以预期,以了解患者酗酒和吸毒有关的条件,可以影响人们从我们社会的各个方面产生巨大金额。学生一般会看到比传统上是出现在校园里,并在他们的生活的过渡时间会治疗的人更苛刻的条件。这是一个机会,在机构设置工作,同时保持与心脏相连,服务的精神,就中医。

 

主动为残疾妇女,医院关节疾病
359第二大道,纽约,NY 10010

在国际妇女节是一个多学科,妇女中心,提供医疗,妇科服务,教育宣传和社会服务计划。实习生将有机会介绍针灸的女性残疾人和慢性疾病。这是一个具有挑战性的异地实习和实习应该期望在一个快节奏的环境中工作,对待每班次3-5例。未来的实习生应该具备的耐心,同情心和专业的独特的学习体验。

 

退伍军人管理局医院/疼痛管理中心
423东23街,纽约州,纽约州10011

这个程序是PCOM和纽约市的VA医院之间的合作伙伴关系。这项计划的目标是提供针灸给我们返回的退伍军人。它坐落在非常繁忙的疼痛管理部门。这是一个令人难以置信的机会,以帮助我们的退伍军人。

 

房屋工程 -  www.housingworks.org
320西第13街,纽约,纽约10014

房屋工程的是与生活和受艾滋病毒/艾滋病人治疗的社区。他们的使命是通过不断的宣传,提供救生服务,和创业企业的持续努力,以结束危机的双重无家可归者和艾滋病。

他们引以为豪的服务&NBSP综合阵列上;自1990年以来提供的2万多名无家可归者和低收入的纽约人,他们认为,提供稳定的住房和医疗是对生活在健康长寿的第一步。支持性服务,包括住房,医疗,膳食和营养咨询,心理健康和物质滥用治疗,就业培训和法律援助。其中心目的是在友好和以社区为基础的环境,包括一个完整的健身设施,创意艺术治疗等有意义的集体活动提供最优质的医疗和牙科保健。这是一个惊人的机会,以帮助有需要的人,在他们的华西村卫生服务中心。

 

财富社会 - www.fortunesociety.org
2976北方大道,长岛市,纽约州11101

财富协会,一个非盈利性组织,存在是为了帮助囚犯,释囚及辅导,职业发展,教育,宣传,药物滥用和艾滋病治疗提供服务的授权替代监禁(ATI)计划。这异地将为学生提供一个机会,在一个快节奏的,非传统的环境中工作,而同情是服务于患者在他们生活中的关键时刻;从监禁过渡重返社会和那些在ATI的程序群组。

 

路德医疗中心 - 劳动与放;交货场外
150 55 街,布鲁克林,纽约州11220

*这种转变是一个密集式的转变。学生将上位置12小时/天,连续5天,主治共60临床小时一周。

在这个独特的和令人兴奋的临床密集,学生们将花&NBSP一周; LMC繁忙的劳动和交付部队,参加用教克劳迪娅Citkovitz的1级L&安培的诊断和治疗技术出生; D级(这个类是这种转变的先决条件) 。学生一般可以期望看到至少4阴道分娩,并尽可能多的剖腹产,因为他们想要的。他们将体验真正的一体化实践,学习的测试结果,给予药物治疗,并收缩监视器读数的中国medicine影响。在出生的停机时间,学生将审查教学材料,并提高他们的评估与推拿技巧。

 

路德医疗中心 - 针灸在神经和骨科康复
150 55 街 纽约布鲁克林11220

在这种密集的异地转移,将学生引入到主要的医疗和实践层面在住院康复设置ofpracticing针灸。我们的设备上工作,完全与MD和护理人员的工作,以及物理,职业及语言治疗师的动手实践驱动该部门整合。

在临床上,学生们将获得一个全面的基础,在采用针灸治疗急性和亚急性卒中治疗,以及其他神经系统疾病,如脑外伤,MS和帕金森氏病。我们也将用针灸为神经病患者以及那些遭受外伤疼痛的投诉,并从手术中恢复 此外,学生将获得一个清晰的感觉到它是如何在医院实践 - 特殊的节奏和社交能力。住院治疗,啄订单,术语和所涉及的文书工作。学生不知道医院或公共卫生工作是否对他们来说,很可能会出现具有明确的“是”或“否”。

典型的一天将开始与个案会议。我们讨论我们的病人和他们的病历,观察他们在康复健身房和PT和OT赋予员工以确定其治疗目标,并设置自己的。我们治疗的患者在他们的病床体穴,或在健身房的头皮,耳朵,有的远点处理(学生应该把自己的笔记从头皮和耳班)。有研究兴趣的学生可以选择开发案例历史,面向未来表现或出版。

 

路德医疗中心 - 在神经和骨科康复腹针
150 55 街 纽约布鲁克林11220

在这种密集的异地转移,学生将被引入到住院康复的设置执业针灸的主要医学和实际尺寸。我们的设备上工作,完全与MD和护理人员的工作,以及物理,职业及语言治疗师的动手实践驱动该部门整合。

在临床上,学生们将学习如何使用腹针(BMAA)的志云博的方法的血统来治疗疼痛的问题,神经病患者,患者的痛苦和创伤,从手术中恢复,并提供治疗的医院工作人员。完成后,学生将掌握点定位技术,应用技能和穴位公式的几个颈部和背部疼痛病症的治疗。此外,学生将观察BMAA对患者进行急性和亚急性中风,以及其他神经系统疾病,如脑外伤,MS,和帕金森氏病。

每日格式:一天将开始查房,病例的临床复查,并在BMAA的理论和实践指导。在此之后初始指令期间,学生们将跟随保罗给在医院的地板护理,观察在第一,然后越来越多地参与治疗过程。下午4点后,学生将练习先上对方,然后用BMAA在门诊适合他们的经验水平疼痛。

 

哥伦比亚健康:医疗服务(针灸)
哥伦比亚大学 -  www.health.columbia.edu
约翰·杰伊厅,4 楼 519西114 街 纽约州,纽约州10027

医疗服务支持​​福祉thestudents哥伦比亚大学(CU)的晨兴校区和大学社区。学生年龄跨度从18岁到75岁,虽然大多数是年龄在20-40岁的研究生。在CU,有一个大的国际学生人数。医疗服务提供日常和紧急医疗护理,以及性健康,生殖和妇科服务,旅游医疗,保健LGBTQ,保密HIVtesting和免疫接种。

这针灸异地实习将提供治疗谁是哥伦比亚保健治疗医生或护士医生转介病人。 PCOM学生将有机会与年轻患者,包括运动员谁与各种条件,包括急性疼痛,肌肉骨骼损伤,应激相关的症状,以及维持其健康的欲望展示工作。

 

的Joffrey芭蕾舞学校(按摩)
434大道美洲(第6大道 - 顺便说一句第9和第10,第3 FL Studio中2)

该Joffrey的芭蕾舞学校创办于1953年,以开发和培养专业舞者。在五十余年的存在,在Joffrey的芭蕾舞学校一直对美国舞蹈教育的前列。学院的毕业生已经跳舞了重大的古典芭蕾舞团,以及众多现代和当代的企业,无论是在美国和海外。该芭蕾舞团见习和爵士和当代课程有舞蹈的学生来自世界各地。

未来的实习生应该具备运动按摩和按摩骨科技巧与舞者合作,无论他们准备进行排练或演出,以及协助恢复后的表现。这些舞者将在专业教师和舞蹈学员在4-6年的芭蕾和当代的方案。他们也可能受伤,因此呈现按摩实习生将有机会获得信心,爱心和技能在他们的治疗过程中,支持的舞者。这种独特的异地实习让谁的学生有兴趣与工作的运动员和舞蹈演员的机会,提高他们的运动按摩技能群组。

English Chinese (Simplified) Japanese Korean Spanish

New York - Off-site Internships

Beth Israel Continuum Cancer Center (BICCC)
325 West 15th St, New York, NY 10011

The Continuum Cancer Center’s West side campus is an outpatient facility that provides treatment for cancer patients. They care for a variety of cancer patients, but are considered a center of excellence for patients diagnosed with head and neck cancer. Their approach of treatment is focused not only on the best of what allopathic medicine can offer, it also focuses on the treating the patient as a whole.

Their goal is to support the patient’s well being not only through the process of treatment, but recovery as related to quality of life issues resulting from treatment. They provide a full integrative oncology program including yoga, reiki, guided imagery, hypnosis, and creative arts including music therapy and writing workshops.

The acupuncture off-site internship will provide treatment for patients going through chemotherapy and radiation therapy. In addition, there are two research projects in progress related to the quality of life issues of xerostomia seen in our head and neck patients and hot flashes in our breast patients. Students will have the opportunity to work with cancer patients during treatment and have a better understanding of the illness of cancer.

 

Grand Meridian Clinic
211 Grand Street (between Mott and Elizabeth)

Located in the rear of the Kamwo Herb and Tea Company, the Grand Meridian Clinic sees patients from all over the world who are visiting Chinatown. The supervisor provides interns with the opportunity to sharpen herb identification skills by presenting samples from Kamwo's extensive herbal dispensary. Additionally, an aspect of eastern nutrition through the preparation of soups and teas for tasting is presented along with participating in herb processing (i.e. honey-fried herbs, vacuum packing) and observing raw herb prescription filling in the extensive traditional herbal dispensary.


St. John’s Riverside Hospital (Yonkers)
2 Park Avenue, Yonkers, NY 10703

St. John’s Riverside Hospital, Park Care Pavilion, is located (accessible by public transportation) in Westchester County. Patients from the facility’s 28-day rehab program are referred for acupuncture treatments. Students can expect to learn a tremendous amount about patients with alcohol and drug related conditions that can affect people from all aspects of our society. Students will generally see more severe conditions than are traditionally seen on campus and will be treating people at a transitional time in their lives. It is an opportunity to work in an institutional setting while remaining connected to the heart and spirit of service in relation to TCM.

 

Initiative for Women with Disabilities, Hospital for Joint Diseases
359 Second Avenue, New York, NY 10010

The IWD is a multi-disciplinary, women's center, providing medical, gynecological services, educational advocacy and social service programs. Interns will have the opportunity to introduce acupuncture to women with disabilities and chronic conditions. This is a challenging off-site internship and interns should expect to work in a fast-paced environment, treating 3-5 patients per shift. Prospective interns should possess patience, compassion and professionalism for a unique learning experience.

 

Veteran’s Administration Hospital/Pain Management Center
423 East 23rd Street, New York, New York 10011

This program is a partnership between PCOM and the VA Hospital of New York City. The goal of this program is to provide acupuncture to our returning war veterans. It is located in the very busy pain management department. This is an incredible opportunity to help our veterans.

 

Housing Works - www.housingworks.org
320 West 13th St., New York, NY 10014

Housing Works is a healing community of people living with and affected by HIV/AIDS. Their mission is to end the dual crises of homelessness and AIDS through relentless advocacy, the provision of lifesaving services, and entrepreneurial businesses that sustain their efforts.

They pride themselves on the comprehensive array of services provided to more than 20,000 homeless and low-income New Yorkers since 1990. They believe that providing stable housing and healthcare is the first step toward living a long and healthy life. Supportive services include housing, healthcare, meals and nutritional counseling, mental health and substance use treatment, job training, and legal assistance. Their centers are designed to provide top-quality medical and dental care in a friendly and community-based environment that include a full on-site fitness facility, creative art therapy and other meaningful group activities. This is an amazing opportunity to help those in need at their West Village Health Center.

 

The Fortune Society - www.fortunesociety.org
2976 Northern Blvd, Long Island City, NY 11101

The Fortune Society, a nonprofit organization, exists to help prisoners, ex-offenders and those mandated to Alternative to Incarceration (ATI) programs by offering services in counseling, career development, education, advocacy, substance abuse and HIV treatment. This off-site will provide students an opportunity to work in a fast-paced, non-traditional environment while compassionately being of service to patients during a pivotal moment in their lives; the transition from incarceration back into society and those in ATI programs. 

 

Lutheran Medical Center - Labor & Delivery Off-Site
150 55th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11220

* This shift is an intensive style shift. Students will be on location 12 hours/day for 5 consecutive days, attending a total of 60 clinical hours in one week.

In this unique and exciting clinical intensive, students will spend the week on LMC's busy Labor and Delivery unit, attending births using the diagnostic and treatment skills taught in Claudia Citkovitz’s Level 1 L&D class (this class is a prerequisite for this shift). Students can generally expect to see at least 4 vaginal births and as many C-sections as they want. They will experience truly integrative practice, learning the Chinese medicine implications of test results, medications given, and contraction monitor readouts. In down times between births, students will review didactic material and sharpen their assessment and Tui Na skills.

 

Lutheran Medical Center - Acupuncture in Neurological and Orthopedic Rehabilitation
150 55th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11220

In this intensive offsite shift, students will be introduced to the main medical and practical dimensions ofpracticing acupuncture in an inpatient rehabilitation setting. Our work on the unit is fully integrated with the work of the MD and nursing staff, as well as the physical, occupational and speech therapists whose hands-on practice drives this department.

Clinically, students will gain a thorough grounding in the use of acupuncture for acute and subacute stroke care, as well as other neurological conditions such as Traumatic Brain Injury, MS and Parkinson’s disease. We will also use acupuncture for pain complaints in neurological patients as well as those suffering trauma and recovering from surgery. In addition, students will gain a clear sense of how it is to practice in a hospital – the special rhythms and social skills of inpatient care, the pecking orders, the terminology and the paperwork involved. Students wondering whether hospital or public health work is for them, are likely to emerge with a clear ‘yes’ or ‘no’.

A typical day will start with case conference. We discuss our patients and their medical charts, observing them in the rehab gym and conferring with PT and OT staff to determine their treatment goals and set our own. We treat the patients in their hospital beds for body points, or in the gym for scalp, ear and some distal point treatments (students should bring their notes from scalp and auricular classes). Students with interest in research may choose to develop a case history for future presentation or publication.

 

Lutheran Medical Center - Abdominal Acupuncture in Neurological and Orthopedic Rehabilitation
150 55th Street, Brooklyn, NY 11220

In this intensive offsite shift, students will be introduced to the main medical and practical dimensions of practicing acupuncture in an inpatient rehabilitation setting. Our work on the unit is fully integrated with the work of the MD and nursing staff, as well as the physical, occupational and speech therapists whose hands-on practice drives this department.

Clinically, students will learn to use the lineage of Zhiyun Bo's method of Abdominal Acupuncture (BMAA) to treat pain problems in neurological patients, patients suffering trauma and recovering from surgery, and by providing treatments for hospital staff. Upon completion, students will have grasped point location techniques, application skills, and acupoint formulas for the treatment of several neck and back pain conditions. In addition, students will observe BMAA performed on patients with acute and subacute stroke, as well as other neurological conditions such as Traumatic Brain Injury, MS, and Parkinson's Disease.

Daily format: The day will start with rounds, clinical review of cases, and instruction in the theory and practice of BMAA. Following this initial instruction period, students will follow Paul giving treatments on the hospital floor, observing at first and then increasingly participating in the treatment process. After 4pm, students will practice using BMAA first on each other and then on outpatients with pain conditions appropriate to their level of experience.

 

Columbia Health: Medical Services (Acupuncture)
Columbia University - www.health.columbia.edu
John Jay Hall, 4th Floor, 519 West 114th Street, New York, New York 10027

Medical Services supports the well-being of thestudents and university community of the Morningside Campus of Columbia University (CU). Students range from 18 to 75 years of age although most are graduate students aged 20-40 years old. At CU, there is a large international student population. Medical Services provides routine and urgent medical care, as well as sexual health, reproductive and gynecological services, travel medicine, LGBTQ healthcare, confidential HIVtesting and immunizations.

This acupuncture off-site internship will provide treatment for patients who are referred by the Columbia Health treating physicians or nurse practitioners. PCOM students will have the opportunity to work with young patients including athletes who present with a variety of conditions including acute pain, musculoskeletal injury, stress related symptoms as well as the desire to maintain their health.

 

Joffrey Ballet School (Massage)
434 Ave of the Americas (6th Ave. – btw 9th and 10th, 3rd Fl Studio 2)

The Joffrey Ballet School was founded in 1953 to develop and train professional dancers. In more than fifty years of existence, the Joffrey Ballet School has remained on the forefront of American dance education. Graduates of the School have gone on to dance for major classical ballet companies, as well as for numerous modern and contemporary companies, both in the United States and abroad. The Ballet Trainee and Jazz and Contemporary Programs have dance students from all over the world.

Prospective interns should possess sports massage and orthopedic massage skills to work with the dancers to either prepare them for rehearsals or performance as well as assist in the recovery post performance. These dancers will be the professional faculty and dance trainees in the 4-6 year Ballet and Contemporary programs. They may also present with injuries therefore the massage intern will have the opportunity to gain the confidence, compassion and skill to support the dancer during their healing process. This unique off-site internship will allow those students who are interested in working with athletes and dancers an opportunity to sharpen their Sport Massage skills.